Entertainment Views Awards 2018/2019

The results have been released in our online cyber ceremony for which thanks are owed to our incredible guest presenters: Cathy O’Reilly, Tim Churchill, Yvonne Howard, Bradley Travis, Samantha Power, Gregory Ashton (Gladys), Rachel Cantrill Dean, Amanda Henderson, Robert Daws, Pippa Winslow, Jenna Boyd, Liz Grand, Stephen Beckett and Adrian Bingham. 

Thanks you to all who voted, we had just over 2500 votes in total!

To watch the results being announced by our wonderful presenters – simply check out our Facebook page: Facebook Page – Entertainment Views

Or take a look at our Twitter feed:

All the details for this year’s awards are below…

We are proudly sponsored by Jurys Inn Hotels and Leonardo Hotels 

This year’s theatre, television and pantomime recognition awards have been re-branded to match the re-branded blog – so of course they will be called Entertainment Views Awards.

We have several categories with the short-list selected by a panel of judges associated with Entertainment Views and winners chosen by public vote.

The categories are:

Best Stage Musical

WINNER: Blood Brothers

Nominees: Fat Friends The Musical (touring), Beautiful (touring), Blood Brothers (touring), Mamma Mia (West End), Shrek the Musical (touring), Evita (touring), Jersey Boys (touring), Titanic the Musical (touring)

Best Stage Play

WINNER: Alice in Wonderland

Nominees: Gallowglass (touring), Brighton Rock (touring), Move Over Mrs Markham (The Mill at Sonning), Alice in Wonderland (Kew Gardens), The Hound of the Baskervilles (Stoke-on-Trent Repertory Theatre), Switzerland (Theatre Royal Bath), And This Is My Friend Mr Laurel (touring), The Importance of Being Earnest (touring) 

Best Opera 

WINNER: A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Nominees: Iolanthe (ENO), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (ENO), Falstaff (Garsington), Cosi Fan Tutte (Opera Holland Park), The Skating Rink (Garsington), Capriccio (Garsington), Ruddigore (National G & S Opera Company), Don Giovanni (WNO)

Best Television Soap 

WINNER: Coronation Street

Coronation Street (ITV), Doctors (BBC), EastEnders (BBC), Emmerdale (ITV), Hollyoaks (Channel Four)

Best Television Drama 

WINNER: Bodyguard

Vanity Fair (ITV), Bodyguard (BBC), Unforgotten (ITV), Call The Midwife (BBC), Casualty (BBC), Holby City (BBC), Kiri (Channel Four), A Very English Scandal (BBC) 

Best Television Comedy 

WINNER: Not Going Out

Not Going Out (BBC), Benidorm (ITV), Cold Feet (ITV), Hold The Sunset (BBC One), Mum (BBC Two), Two Doors Down (BBC Two), Trollied (Sky One), The Windsors (Channel Four) 

Best Actor in a Stage Musical

WINNER: Sean Jones

Nominees: Neil Hurst (Fat Friends The Musical), Daniel Taylor (Blood Brothers), Sean Jones (Blood Brothers), Stephen Beckett (Mamma Mia), Steffan Harri (Shrek the Musical), Samuel Holmes (Shrek the Musical), Glenn Carter (Evita), Simon Bailey (Jersey Boys)

Best Actress in a Stage Musical

WINNER: Jodie Prenger

Nominees: Sam Bailey (Fat Friends The Musical), Jodie Prenger (Fat Friends The Musical), Sara Poyzer (Mamma Mia), Kate Graham (Mamma Mia), Ricky Butt (Mamma Mia), Laura Main (Shrek the Musical), Claire Machin (Titanic the Musical), Lucy O’Byrne (Evita)

Best Actor in a Stage Play

WINNER: Graham Martin

Nominees: Mark Curry (Move Over Mrs Markham), Dean Smith (Gallowglass), Jeffrey Holland (Move Over Mrs Markham/And This Is My Friend Mr Laurel), Calum Finlay (Switzerland), Graham Martin (The Hound of the Baskervilles), Jacob James Beswick (Brighton Rock), Thomas Howes (The Importance of Being Earnest), Paul Opacic (Gallowglass) 

Best Actress in a Stage Play

WINNER: Jenny Hanley

Nominees: Finty Williams (Move Over Mrs Markham), Karen Drury (Gallowglass), Judy Buxton (Move Over Mrs Markham), Jo Wickham (Alice in Wonderland), Phyllis Logan (Switzerland), Florence Cady (Gallowglass), Jenny Hanley (The Hound of the Baskervilles), Gwen Taylor (The Importance of Being Earnest)

Best Actor in an Opera

WINNER: David Webb

Nominees: David Webb (A Midsummer Night’s Dream), Matthew Durkan (A Midsummer Night’s Dream), Andrew Shore (Iolanthe), Barnaby Rea (Iolanthe), Marcus Farnsworth (Iolanthe), Henry Waddington (Falstaff), Richard Burkhard (Falstaff), Sam Furness (The Skating Rink) 

Best Actress in an Opera 

WINNER: Clare Presland

Nominees: Clare Presland (A Midsummer Night’s Dream), Eleanor Dennis (A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Cosi Fan Tutte), Yvonne Howard (Iolanthe and Falstaff), Ellie Laugharne (Iolanthe), Samantha Price (Iolanthe), Kitty Whately (Cosi Fan Tutte), Claire Wild (The Skating Rink), Susan Bickley (The Skating Rink) 

Best Actor on Television

WINNER: Richard Madden

Connor McIntyre (Coronation Street), Hugh Grant (A Very English Scandal), Alex Jennings (A Very English Scandal & Unforgotten), Martin Clunes (Doc Martin & Vanity Fair), Davood Ghadami (EastEnders), Richard Madden (Bodyguard), Will Beck (Casualty), Bob Barrett (Holby City)

Best Actress on Television 

WINNER: Sarah Lancashire

Sue Cleaver (Coronation Street), Lorraine Cheshire (Trollied& Ackley Bridge), Michele Dotrice (A Very English Scandal), Charley Webb (Emmerdale), Amanda Mealing (Casualty), Linda Bassett (Call The Midwife), Olivia Cooke (Vanity Fair), Sarah Lancashire (Kiri)


Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: